Live score, IND vs SA Second Test: India on a roll, South Africa 4 down

Bengaluru: Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin struck twice in his first over as India commanded the opening session of the second Test against South Africa at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday.

The Proteas, down 1-0 in the four-match arrangement, lost three top-request wickets subsequent to being sent into bat in cloudy conditions before going to lunch on the first day at 78 for three.

WICKET! Quick bowler Varun Aaron guaranteed the key wicket of Hashim Amla (7) in the fifteenth over, evacuating the skipper’s off-stump as the Proteas were decreased to 45-3.

Stomach muscle de Villiers was invited to the wrinkle in his 100th Test appearance with noisy cheers from nearly 15,000 fans who view him as one of their own because of his spell with the Bangalore group in the Indian Premier League.

De Villiers got off the imprint with five runs, civility of a topple by Indian skipper Virat Kohli that dashed to the wall.

The South African star took after that with a sweetly-timed on-drive off Aaron for a limit and pulled Ashwin to the square-leg wall.

At lunch, De Villiers was unbeaten on 19 and opener Dean Elgar was on 38, the pair having put on 33 keeps running for the fourth wicket.

WICKET! Jadeja struck promptly after the lunch as Dean Elgar dragged one onto the stumps.

India rolled out two improvements from the side that won the first Test in Mohali by 108 runs, getting head quick bowler Ishant Sharma and all-rounder Stuart Binny set up of Umesh Yadav and Amit Mishra.

South Africa supplanted the harmed pace pair of Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander with Morne Morkel and Kyle Abbott.

The Proteas likewise acquired all-rounder JP Duminy, who missed the first Test because of damage, set up of off-spinner Simon Harmer.


India: Virat Kohli (skipper), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Stuart Binny, Ravichandran Ashwin, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma

South Africa: Hashim Amla (skipper), Dean Elgar, Stiaan van Zyl, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Dane Vilas, Kyle Abbott, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Television umpire: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

Match official: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× five = 20

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>